b1 b2 b3 b4

Chair
Caroline Nagel
University of South Carolina
cnagel@mailbox.sc.edu

Vice Chair
Katherine Hankins
Georgia State University
khankins@gsu.edu

Treasurer
Joseph Danko
Brown University
joseph.danko@uconn.edu

Regular Board Members
Kathe Newman
Rutgers University
knewman@rutgers.edu

Meghan Cope
University of Vermont
meghan.cope@uvm.edu

Patricia Ehrkamp
University of Kentucky
p.ehrkamp@uky.edu

Astrid Wood
University of Newcastle
astrid.wood@ncl.ac.uk

Nathan McClintock
Portland State University
n.mcclintock@pdx.edu

I-Chun Catherine Chang
Macalester College
ichang@macalester.edu

Jennifer Kitson
Rowan University
kitson@rowan.edu

Student Representatives
Rachael Baker
York University
baker87@yorku.ca

Emma Slager
University of Washington
ejslager@uw.edu

Webmaster
Fabian Terbeck
University of Connecticut
fabian.terbeck@uconn.edu

Welcome! Thank you for the visiting the website of the Urban Geography Specialty Group (UGSG). With over 1,400 members, UGSG is one of the largest of the American Association of Geographers (AAG) Specialty Groups. UGSG has come a long way since 29 urban geographers met at the 1979 AAG annual conference in Philadelphia as part of the process of gaining official recognition for the Group.

The general remit of the UGSG is to foster research in urban geography in the United States and beyond by organizing meetings and seminars, developing networks among urban geographers and other social scientists, and promoting the publication of research.

As you will see from this website, UGSG is involved in a number of activities. We sponsor many sessions at the annual AAG annual conference. We also award prizes to recognize faculty, postgraduate, and undergraduate research excellence in urban geography.

Although we no longer publish newsletters, the website contains past copies, demonstrating the contribution our group has made to the advancement to urban geography. The “History” tab details the emergence and the evolution of the UGSG over the last five decades.

Of course, we are always looking for new ways to promote and to develop urban geography. So please get in touch if you have any ideas about the UGSG (e.g., suggesting links for the website or proposing new events and activities). We would be delighted to hear from you.